Skip to main content

Todd Flory, Caitlin Linck & Mary Anne Maupin named USD 385's Master Teacher Nominees

Posted Date: 12/19/2017

Todd Flory, Caitlin Linck & Mary Anne Maupin named USD 385's Master Teacher Nominees

USD 385 is happy to announce its three nominees for the Kansas Master Teacher Award: Todd Flory, Caitlin Linck & Mary Anne Maupin. Congratulations!

Emporia State University established the Kansas Master Teacher Award in 1953 to be presented to earnest and conscientious teachers. To be eligible, a teacher must have served at least five years in Kansas schools, exemplified teaching or administrative effectiveness and demonstrated the attitudes and abilities specified in the National Education Association’s Code of Ethics of the Educational Professional.

Qualified candidates submit an application documenting their educational philosophy, job performance, outstanding community services, continuous professional growth, exceptional school service and participation in professional organizations. Todd Flory is a fourth-grade teacher at Wheatland Elementary, Caitlin Linck is a special education teacher at Robert Martin Elementary, and Mary Anne Maupin is the librarian at Andover Central High School.

In January, a selection committee will choose seven Kansas applicants as award recipients. The president or designated representatives from prominent education organizations make up the selection committee. Two Master Teachers from the previous year also serve on the committee.

Only one person from a district can be selected as a Master Teacher. Selected teachers are recognized during a special Kansas Master Teacher Recognition Day at Emporia State University. Each 2018 winner will receive a $1,000 award from Bank of America to be used for professional development.