Skip to main content

Students win 2020 school spelling bees

Posted Date: 01/20/2020

Thumbnail Image for Article 46411

The annual Andover Spelling Bees for elementary schools took place last week. Mr. Brett White, Superintendent, and Mrs. Katherine Munsen, a parent volunteer, pronounced the words to the students with several staff members across the district serving in the role of judges for the bees. All of the spellers did a great job, but ultimately the bees came down to one school winner and one runner-up.

Our Andover Spelling Bee winners will be representing their school at the Butler County Spelling Bee on Feb. 7t at Butler County Community College in El Dorado, Kansas.

The 2020 winners and runner-ups from each elementary are: 

  • Cottonwood-first place: Will Rather; runner-up: Isaiah Day
  • Meadowlark- first place: Sadie Dyson-Smith; runner-up: Yasmina Mortada
  • Prairie Creek-first place: Vedansh Mudel; runner-up: Ashwatth Jagadeesh
  • Robert Martin-first place: Chris Waldron; runner-up: Triston Toy
  • Sunflower-first place: Tessa Cooper; runner-up: Hudson Axtell
  • Wheatland-first place: Alex Rosen; runner-up: Allison de la Garza
  • eCademy-first place: Izel Franco-Mathur; runner-up: Cammie Depeugh