Skip to main content

AMS Yearbook named Jostens 2016 National Yearbook Program of Excellence

Posted Date: 09/27/2016

Thumbnail Image for Article 5759

Andover Middle School’s yearbook program has been named a Jostens National Yearbook Program of Excellence for the second year in a row. Two-time winners on the 2015-16 Trojan Tradition staff include Emma Torgerson, Josie Farris, Alea Bird, Liz Haralson and Claire Pomeroy. First-time winners include Emma Adams, Elise Adams, Manon Lee, Ellie Braynock, Maddie Bishop, Carter Schaeffer, Olivia Brosch, Jenna Elliott and Kaylee Kindle. The students operate under the direction of advisor Gina Miller. The staff received a plaque and banner commemorating the award.

Jostens National Yearbook Program of Excellence recognizes programs that excel in the creation and distribution of their yearbook. In addition, books are meaningful to a majority of the student body, well distributed and its staff met deadlines during the creation process. The program also encourages the development of 21st century skills for the staff, such as communication, collaboration, and information and communication technologies (ICT) literacy.

“Schools that continually strive to create a great yearbook for their students deserve to  be recognized,” Jostens’ website says. “We understand that a great yearbook program doesn’t just happen, and we’re dedicated to helping schools strengthen theirs.”