Skip to main content

Two Andover teachers earn Horizon Awards

Posted Date: 01/07/2021

Two Andover teachers earn Horizon Awards

2021 Horizon Award winners

Two Andover teachers have been named 2021 Horizon Award recipients by the Kansas State Department of Education.

Victoria Hoerst, second-grade teacher at Wheatland Elementary School, and Brooke Hernandez, language arts teacher at Andover Middle School, were among the 32 statewide recipients of the award, which honors outstanding second-year teachers.

Dr. Randy Watson, Kansas Commissioner of Education, surprised the recipients with a Zoom call on Jan. 7. (Watch a portion of those calls below.)

This is the second straight year that two Andover teachers received the Horizon Award.