Skip to main content

Kim Hett, Marcia Base & Amanda Young named USD 385's Master Teacher Nominees

Posted Date: 12/01/2016

Thumbnail Image for Article 7403

USD 385 is happy to announce its three nominees for the Kansas Master Teacher Award: Kim Hett, Marcia Base and Amanda Young. Congratulations!

Emporia State University established the Kansas Master Teacher Award in 1953 to be presented to earnest and conscientious teachers. To be eligible, a teacher must have served at least five years in Kansas schools, exemplified teaching or administrative effectiveness and demonstrated the attitudes and abilities specified in the National Education Association’s Code of Ethics of the Educational Professional.

Qualified candidates submit an application documenting their educational philosophy, job performance, outstanding community services, continuous professional growth, exceptional school service and participation in professional organizations. Andover has a nominee for each school level (elementary, middle and high school). Kim Hett is an elementary teacher at Andover eCademy. Marcia Base is a special education teacher at Andover Middle School, and Amanda Young teaches foreign language at Andover High School.

In January, a selection committee will choose seven Kansas applicants as award recipients. The president or designated representatives from prominent education organizations make up the selection committee. Two Master Teachers from the previous year also serve on the committee.

Only one person from a district can be selected as a Master Teacher. Selected teachers are recognized during a special Kansas Master Teacher Recognition Day at Emporia State University. Each 2017 winner will receive a $1,000 award from Bank of America to be used for professional development.