Skip to main content

Andover Elementary Spelling Bee Winners

Posted Date: 01/19/2017

Thumbnail Image for Article 8146

The annual Andover Elementary Spelling Bees took place Wednesday, Jan. 13, Thursday, Jan. 14 and Friday, Jan 15. Mrs. Katherine Munsen and Mr. Brett White pronounced the words to the students with several staff members serving in the role of judges for the bees. All of the spellers did a great job, but ultimately the bees came down to one school winner and one runner-up. Our Andover Spelling Bee winners will be representing their elementary at the Butler County Spelling Bee on Feb. 3 at Butler County Community College in El Dorado, Kansas. 

The 2017 winners and runner-ups from each elementary are: 

  • Cottonwood – first place: Kamden Thornton; runner-up: Kaitlyn Brown
  • Meadowlark – first place: Addison Martineau; runner-up: Lauren McIlvain
  • Prairie Creek – first place: Sophia Bankston; runner-up: Hadley White
  • Robert Martin – first place: Sophie Thiessen; runner-up: Ayaan Parkih
  • Sunflower – first place: Emma Cooper; runner-up: Leonardo Fazzini
  • Wheatland – first place: Bridget Bleakley; runner-up: Aurora Tan
  • eCademy – first place: Megan Davis; runner-up: Cal Solomon